Care for your perms

I have always wanted to do a post on how to take care of your permed hair and what are some of the things that you should consider before going for a perm. Everyday, there will be about 10 to 20 readers coming to my blog while they were searching about permed hair on any search engine.

That was indeed ALOT. Hence the thought of writing a post about it came to my mind.
But unfortunately, exams strangled my writing ability and was not able to.

Yup. Before I get busy again, I’d better get down to writing!

I will do it in a Q&A format. πŸ™‚

1. How long does my hair need to be before I curl my hair?
Generally speaking, many girls think that the longer your hair, the nicer the curls will be.
Well, it all depends on what kind of look you are after and what kind of perms that you want.

If you are opting for romantic and feminine look, the longer and bigger the curls the better.
If you are opting for cute and sweet look, anything ranging from the bob hair length to shoulder length hair will be enough.

Any kind of length is suitable for perming. However, the hair will definitely go up by 2 or 3 inches after a perm.

Back then, my hair wasn’t really long to begin with, have natural curls and there was layerings.

This was the first picture taken after the perm.
It was really really tight back then.

2. Do you comb your hair?
No after all the styling products. I will usually run my fingers through the hair during shampooing and when my hair is wet. If I’m still afraid of it tangling, I will comb the ends of hair with a WIDE-TOOTH COMB. You don’t want to spoil your curls by combing your hair straight down. And then, hurray cos you don’t have to comb your hair when you go out!!!

3. How do you maintain your curls?
– Always use a conditioner and use hair treatment weekly because permed hair is definitely drying.
– Use leave-in conditioner to protect your hair.
– Use a styling product and twist and curl your hair for a bouncy look.
– For volume, you can bend your head and let all hair down infront of your eyes, then look up again.

4. Isn’t it a hassle maintaining it?
It is at first, but you’ll get the hang of it soon.
In fact, maintaining my permed hair is easier maintaining my “before” hair with natural curls. I don’t have to worry about the shape of my hair, and I don’t have to comb or blow-dry it! The messier, the prettier. LOL.

5. Can you cut your hair?
You can, but it’s not advisable. I only got my first head trim after 9 months.

The end.
With proper hair care, you’ll definitely get pretty curls.
Have fun!

6 thoughts on “Care for your perms

  1. i have a color in my hair that i put myself in it its like a dark red brownish but im scared if i perm it my hair is going to be really messed up would you consider me putting one in my hair if its colored?

    1. When I first perm my hair, my hair is coloured too! But my colour turns out lighter after the perm. So you might wana consider that. πŸ™‚

Have something to say?

