Can I skip the use of toner?

Everyone knows what a toner is used for; it is to remove excess dirt, makeup or even residues of cleanser that has not been cleaned thoroughly. It can also maintain a healthy pH value of the skin. Different toner may serve different functions as well. For example, A Witch Hazel toner is good for oil control, Salicylic Acid toner is used to prevent acne and Hada Labo toner for instance helps to provide moisture to your skin.

But often than not, many ladies chose to skip this vital step because they cannot feel or see the results which a toner brings. Skipping it might increase the risk of clogged pores and pimples especially if your cleansing step was not done properly. The use of a toner can also prepare the skin for the next skincare step – moisturize, allowing the moisturizer to absorb into the skin better.

I also like to keep my toner in the refrigerator to keep it fresh. The cool sensation of applying the toner onto my skin not only feels good, but also helps to do a better job in tightening pores and soothing my skin. Yes, as I’ve always been doing this for the times when I started my skincare regime, I would go uneasy if I have to use the toner without cooling it in the fridge first.

Tips:

1. When choosing toner, it is important to buy something suitable for your skin type and according to your needs; dry, combination, oily or sensitive.
2. Avoid choosing toner which contains alcohol as it will dry up the skin even more. Swipe first and then pat the toner dry.
3. Do not leave the toner to evaporate by itself for it will cause the skin to become dry.
4.You may apply your moisturizer when your skin is still damp from the toner application.

A toner is cheaper relatively compared to that of a moisturizer. So don’t be stingy, use it liberally! Apply more on the cotton ball/wool before swiping it across the skin. If the cotton wool is not 75% soaked with the toner, the application has no or lesser effect on the skin.

And lastly, be gentle! It is your skin that we are talking about; skin that is going to be with you till your very last breath.

One thought on “Can I skip the use of toner?

  1. My mum has good skin. So I just briefly took one of her SKII (http://www.geocities.jp/hongkong_skii/index_e.htm) to use, which I assume is a moisturizer. It’s good man I tell you! She gave me a small bottle of eye cream before but the effects weren’t that great and I stopped using. But my mum’s moisturizer is good! I can feel it reacting once I applied it

Have something to say?

