My updated skincare regime: fighting the acne!

As you all know, I’m battling with my breakout. And so far, the products are really working to help me with it!
It’s been a week since I incorporate pimple treatment into my regime and all is working fine. In fact, I’m pretty surprised at the results.


Take a look at my before and after. From day 1, my skin is really at its worst. Big pimples purging out and small pimples erupting. Skin looks dull, rough and super clogged! But at day 6, my skin turns smoother, big pimples flattened and small pimples disappearing. Even clogged pores were lesser!

PS: I also have pimples else where but I thought I will just show you part of it. :p

Here’s my recent skin care products.
I’ve since then only use hydrating products (LaneigeΒ  Waterbank series) along with my pimple treatments products. Am stopping whitening products for now because I don’t want to load my already clogged skin with so much things. And besides, I want my skin to FOCUS on healing first.

I mean its the same theory right? You want to excel in your math, so you should do more math problem sums instead of loading yourself with too much of other assessment books.

So anw, here’s the breakdown of my regime:

Toner:
DHC Salicylic Acid Face Toner
Laneige Power Essential Skin Refiner

Salicylic Acid has always been an acne fighter. And I love salicylic acid more than benzyol peroxide because bp tend makes my skin red and sensitive. This clarifying alcohol-free toner penetrates pores to minimize acne breakouts and help my skin maintain a healthy pH level. Initially, I use it day and night. But as I got better on the forth day, I use it at night.

In the morning, I use Laneige Power Essential Skin Refiner instead.
I will not touch on Laneige’s products so much in this entry because I’m going to do a separate post on their waterbank series.

Treatments:

La Roche Posay Effaclar Duo Corrective and unclogging anti-imperfection care
La Roche Posay Effaclar A.I. Targeted Breakout Corrector
Laneige Water Bank Essence

The first product works to prevent future breakout and also to unclog pores at the same time. This can be applied to the whole face. However, I only applied on my affected areas and areas which I think are more prone to outbreak such as my T zone and certain part of my cheeks.

It contains Niacinamide (Vitamin B3) which have anti-inflammatory properties, Piroctone olamine which is an anti-oxidant with antibacterial properties, Linoleic acid (LHA) which is a cousin of Salicylic Acid and works to treat acne and regenerate skin, and lastly Salicylic acid (BHA) to battle acne!

I have only incorporated this two days ago. But so far, it’s working well with my pimple cream and it makes my skin SUPER BABY SMOOTH the next day. Not expecting this to heal my pimples, but as a prevention measure.

Thereafter, I would apply the La Roche Posay Effaclar A.I. Targeted Breakout Corrector which is a pimple cream on affected areas. I must say this product really WORKS! Within two days, I can already see that my huge pimples became SMALLER! It works to dry out the acne, purifies in depth the imperfections and accelerates its disappearance. Most importantly, it can be used under makeup.
Main ingredients are the same as the above.

What I love about La Roche Posay is that it is non-comodogenic and paraben free!

Since Acne treatments can be rather drying at times, I love to use Laneige Water Bank Essence in the morning to give my skin an extra hydration boost. This extra boost also regulates my sebum and in turn make my skin less oily. With lesser oil, chances of having pimples because of sebum would reduce.

Moisturizer:

Clinique Dramatically Different Moisturizing Gel
Laneige Water Bank Moisture Cream

Many people with acne skin tend to leave out the important step of moisturizing which is TOTALLY WRONG! Many said moisturizer makes their skin oily but that’s because they chose the wrong products for their skin.

For oily acne prone skin, it is best to stick to a light-weight formula like a gel type of moisturizer. Here I am using Clinique’s gel moisturizer in the day time and it works to give me the basic hydration, leaving my skin velvety smooth.

And because of constant air-conditioning, skin can get rather dry at times. And since I have combination skin, I use Laniege’s cream moisturizer at night.

Masks:

I still do masks twice a week. I use the lemon’s AHA D.I.Y mask bi-weekly to flatten acne and to whiten acne marks. On other days, I love using sleeping masks to hydrate my skin or whitening masks to lighten my marks and to give my skin a radiant glow. Yeah, that’s the only time I indulge in whitening. haha! Once a month, I would also use peel off Shills black mask to remove blackheads and whiteheads.

Next, I’ll most probably be heading for a facial!
Good luck to me and to those who are fighting their acne!
Clean well, sleep well, eat well and use the right products.

14 thoughts on “My updated skincare regime: fighting the acne!

  1. ah, i have been suffering from pimple outbreak recently too due to all the stress from studying. ):
    i tried something that works quite well.
    i used a clay mask and then i will use a sheet mask (MBD, lovemore etc) and then i put on very very lightweight moisturiser or those kind of moisture booster before dotting pimple cream all over my face.
    i dont want my skin to get overly moisturised which usually result in pimple outbreak for me that’s why i use moisture booster after sheet mask. that way it provides like around 10percent of moisture instead of the 80-90 percent from moisturiser. haha.
    anyway, my pimples will kind of flattened the next day. but a few days later, it will pop back out again because im under constant stress. maybe i should try la roche duo corrective πŸ™‚ did it work very well? la roche posay is quite expensive for me.

    1. All I know is it is making my skin really smooth and perhaps help to unclog some of my pores…but I cannot be for sure cos I only try it out for 2 days. πŸ™‚

  2. I had the same problem too. I tried a new swimming pool which was next to my home and soon after i had eye infection 😦
    It took me 2 weeks to fully recover from it..hope you will be luckier than me πŸ™‚

Have something to say?

