Be aware about Ovarian Cancer

I attended the Positively Teal Bloggers Event recently and I want to say I accidentally deleted all my pictures in my camera before I can even upload it! *Cries


This is the only picture I have … a polariod taken that day. 😦

Oh well, I guess I have to blog without much pictures today.

Anw, the purpose of this event is to create awareness regarding Ovarian Cancer, the 5th most common cancer among Singaporean women.

In Singapore, 1 in 80 women faces Ovarian Cancer in their lifetime. But how many of the women actually knows about Ovarian Cancer?

I’m very glad to have attended the event since I presume most of my readers are ladies, it would be a good chance to spread the message across.

Ovarian cancer usually does not have signs or symptoms in the early stage. The symptoms of ovarian-cancer are also non-specific. The following are the common complaints:

  • Bloated Feeling in the abdomen
  • Abdominal distension
  • Abdominal discomfort
  • Backache or ache in the legs
  • Change of bowel habits
  • Urinary complaints
  • Abnormal vaginal bleeding

There are various diagnosis that can be done: pelvis examination, ultrasound scan, CA-125, CT scans and Biopsy. I believe you will be able to find out more from your doctor.

Treatments for ovarian cancer are surgery, chemotherapy and radiation therapy. After treatments, there must be a temporary abstinence from sexual intercourse for 6 weeks to allow for normal healing. There might be symptoms of menopause as well. Regular check up with blood tests are necessary. Patients should resume normal, healthy lifestyles after treatment.

Who is at risk?
Actually anyone can be at risk but the following are associated with a high risk:

  • High Fat Diet
  • Infertility or not having children until late in life
  • Early menarche and late menopause
  • Family history of ovarian, breast or colorectal cancer

Protect yourself by knowing the symptoms of Ovarian Cancer. Do not be afraid to talk to your doctor about it. Prevention is always better than cure. =)


We had the chance to try out the Teal Macarons created by Executive Pastry Chef Christophe Grilo from Canele Pastisserie Chocolaterie and it was really yummy!
*Picture credit goes to my sis

Box of 2 = $6, Box of 6 = $15, Box of 12 = $24

Purchase the Teal Macarons from 1 to 30 June at Raffles City, Basement 1 & Lido Theatre, Level 5. All proceeds will go to the Singapore Cancer Society.


KissJane is also part of the sponsor for this event. Make your purchases for charity cause as well!


Lastly, join them at Zouk tomorrow! Opps I think I’m a little too late to announce this.

Have something to say?

