How to deal with hormonal Acne

This post is for the girls with acne issues, especially the hormonal ones.
A month ago, I was on my internship. I was dealing with stress everyday and resorted to eating more junk food everyday to relieve stress. I couldn’t help myself as my parents often buy some and stock them at home. During the period, the sun was blasting almost everyday. I also ate more ice-cream than usual. And that also means my sugar intake went UP!

My hormones went haywire and I got a breakout! Now, people say you are what you eat. It’s true! If you eat more junk and sugar, you will get more junk on your skin. Your skin reflects what you eat. I had clogged pores everywhere on my chin, jawline, temples and my right cheek. Soon, these clogged pores emerged into pimples. They are not huge pimples (thank god), but they are relatively bigger than the usual ones I get. If you have acne on those areas I mentioned, it’s most probably hormonal.

So what can you do about it? 

#1 Cut down on

junk food.

I’m not saying that you cannot eat them. Sometimes we do have cravings but we have to control ourselves and not indulge in them everyday. Too sinful and harmful to your body. Or, pick healthy snacks like EDANAME. It’s easy to prepare and very healthy. I love it!

#2 Cut down on

sugar intake 

Sugar can cause many skin problems such as acne and eczema. Excessive sugar can also cause depression.

#3 Take

supplements

There are many supplements out there in the market that can help regulate hormones. Take vitamin Bs to help cope with stress. It is also essential for healthy skin. Take  Evening Primrose Oil to regulate hormones and maintain good skin, hair and nails. Take fish oil to regulate oil production and boost hydration and prevent acne. What’s more? It can also help your brain to function properly.

There is also another supplement by Kordel called Herbal Anti-Acne. Made of herbs such as burdock and red clover, traditionally described as powerful blood purifier, are believed to clear the bloodstream of toxins. This is specially formulated to help in preventing skin outbreaks and soothes problem-prone skin from within. Echinacea supports the immune system; marigold, celandine and burdock act as anti-microbial agents to help reduce bacterial growth on the skin. Sarsaparilla and red clover contains natural phytoseriods that can help to balance hormonal changes and anti-inflammatory effect.

Now, before you mix and match your supplements, please make sure you ask more advice from pharmacists or your family doctor. I’m currently taking fish oil and Herbal Anti-Acne now.

#4 Don’t worry, 

Be HAPPY

I can’t teach you how. But just always remember not to worry too much and be happy! If problems can be solved, why worry? If problems can’t be solved, why worry? Don’t be so serious, nobody gets out alive anyway. Do your favourite things and smile. Be thankful and grateful always. My favourite thing to do is to blog and read a book. Reading gets me out of this realism for awhile. Oh and I also seek pleasure in watching plays. ^^

#5 If all else fails

see dermatologist 

It could be serious hormonal imbalance that you are getting. Go and see a doctor and let them tell you what to do. You can be on birth control pills to regulate hormones. You can also be taking accutane to help cope with acne.

#6 Zap those 

Zits 

So I’ve been talking about getting rid of those pimples and preventing them within the body. But taking care of your skin physically is also important. Cleanse well and exfoliate. REMOVE MAKEUP ALWAYS. To help with deeper cleansing, I use Sonic Cleanse twice a week. It makes my skin soft and smooth and maintain clean pores. Click here to read my review.

These are also some of the products I’m currently using.

  • Thursday Plantation 100% Tea Tree Oil
  • La Roche Posay Effaclar K Renovating care for oily skin Anti-Relapse
  • La Roche Posay Corrective and Unclogging Anti-imperfection care

Tea Tree Oil is known for its inflammatory and anti-bacterial benefits. Use it on your pimples and you will notice swelling goes down the next day.

La Roche Posay Effaclar K Renovating care for oily skin Anti-Relapse
Daily transformation skin texture and reduction of mild acne symptoms through the exclusive combination of Retinyl Linoleate, Salicylic Acid and Micro-exfoliating LHA.
Daily care to refine pores and transform skin texture. Clears acne blemishes, refines texture, and prevents reoccurrence of acne.
La Roche Posay Corrective and Unclogging Anti-imperfection care 
The pores are purified. Even the most severe imperfections disappear. The skin is smoother and cleaner. Lasting balance-replenishment to restore all the qualities of healthy skin. For severe skin imperfections.  It is a complete skincare product that combines 4 active ingredients to act on the two main symptoms of skin with imperfections: Severe localised imperfections: Niacinamide and Piroctone Olamine to fight against bacterial proliferation and eliminate imperfections. Pores clogged with sebum: the combination of LHA and Linoleic Acid unclogs pores while eliminating the accumulated dead cells responsible for blockage. These active ingredients are combined with soothing, anti-irritant La Roche-Posay thermal spring water to reduce redness.
Paraben-free formula.

 

My thoughts on them:
Tea tree oil works slowly but effective. It controls the pimple and not let it gets worsen. It also does not dry out my pimples and have no side effect.Takes about 3 days for a pimple to go away.
Both the la roche posay products works effectively and fast to get rid of clogged pores without going for facial. Most of my clogged pores are gone now! I switched the products as and when I feel like it, so as not to get immune to them. I find that switching them makes the products work more effectively.

I’ve blogged about La Roche Posay before, so check them out here.

I hope you find this post informative and useful. So hungry now. Gotta run!
See you! ^^

6 thoughts on “How to deal with hormonal Acne

  1. where do you buy effaclar duo in singapore? is it available at watsons? how much does it cost,i mean the france one, cos i have the us version and it broke me out so bad, thanks before!

  2. Hi Vivian, May I know where did you get the tea tree oil from? I saw the Thursday Plantation tea tree blemish gel at guardian but not the 100% pure oil. Thank you!

Have something to say?

